Summer is here.

It is finally here. The school year is finished, the finals are over, the grades are in… it’s over. It’s really really over. It’s weird to think about that I only have one semester left of classes, and then a practicum in the spring and I’m finished with my undergraduate degree. How can this be happening? How did I get to be so old?

I was talking to my old band director from high school last night when I realized… I hadn’t seen her in 5 years. 5 YEARS!?!?! And that was my sophomore year in high school. How does that happen. I’m not going to be graduating from college in a year…less than a year. I’m only 20. Wait… I’m 20. I’m not a teenager. This is ridiculous. So far this summer has been a huge realization of how much I’ve grown up these past couple years and how much I’ve changed. It’s only been a week since I’ve been home and I’ve already learned so much. I haven’t been home for this long…since the summer after high school… so this is definitely a new transition.

It’s great though. To realize how many friends I still have, to realize how much I’ve change and how much they’ve changed and how much we can just click back to where we were, but not lose our growth at the same time. When coming it was definitely hard realizing that most of my friends still live in the midwest, and most of them are really close to each other and can see each other during the summer. It’s hard living so far away, and leaving school to realize that you probably won’t see these people till the end of August… yeah it’s rough. But then…I thought to myself. August really isn’t that far… and I do probably have a lot more people that I know here that I still talk to than others do. I live in a huge area… I’ve been here for a while and I’ve established myself. It’s not like I’m coming to a new place where I don’t know anyone. This is my home, and where I grew up. I don’t really have to worry about being alone because I will always have people here, waiting to hang out with me. It’s great!

All in all, summer is here. And I’m ready for it to really begin. I might not be working at camp with some great kids, and I might not be in a state where all of my college friends are. But I have a job, an internship, and I have my friends here. My boyfriend and some of my friends from Taylor are coming this summer too…so this could potentially be the best summer ever. I have such great opportunities here and I can’t wait to see what God has for me šŸ™‚

Photo on 2013-05-20 at 12.29 #2

This entry was published on May 24, 2013 at 12:07 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

