Blessed are the Poor in Spirit.

Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. (Matthew 5:3)

beatitudes-1

It’s amazing to what what one realization can do to your spiritual life. This week has been amazing, when I’ve taken the time to sit down and process and write what is going on in the world around me. I had an amazing time to just be with my dad this weekend and with his fiance; and even though it was just for 2 days they were probably the best two days I’ve had with them in a long time. It was great to hear the words “I’m proud of you”, and “we will support you in what you are doing”. Words like these meant the world to me, and it’s something I didn’t realize until this weekend.

However, not only did I get to spend some amazing time with my dad and my dad’s fiance, but I also got to hang out with my niece and my nephew a lot (fall more in love with them), G+ with my bestie twice, G+ with my freshman and have one of the greatest conversations with my boyfriend that we’ve ever had. But aside from the things that I’ve done this weekend, I have the constant ability to think about what this summer m

eans to me and I’ve gotten to share that with a couple of people that I really love and trust.

Now, I tell you things after I give you this “Blessed are the poor in spirit” verse because I want to tell you where I am coming from in my journey of the summer. I said earlier that I want to live out love this summer, so that I can show the people that I’m with that God speaks loudly and that He loves all people far more than I could ever love. I wanted to study the Beatitudes these next couple of weeks to really see what God has for the inner joy of us all. I want to see where God is going for my heart and how he can use these verses to help me reach out to

others more through my love and actions. I want to be able to multiply these great conversations that I’m having and I want to build people up, just like they are building me up. But I know that I can’t do that unless I learn what inner joy even means…and what God even means.

To tell the truth, when I first read this verse I was a bit confused. What does it mean to be “poor in spirit”? So I googled it. Typically 21st century young adult, I know it’s terrible. But it actually did help. I found a website that explained the “Poor in spirit”  as being about our relation to God. It is the opposite of arrogant self–confidence which dominates and rides over other people and treats God as irrelevant. Those who are “poor in spirit” gladly cast themselves on God’s grace. Poor in spirit is the personal acknowledgment of our spiritual bankruptcy before God. This verse that I just so happen to study today is something that has been on my mind quite a lot lately and was a total God sample. I know for a while now that God has been trying to show me that I need to depend more on Him, but for some reason I’m afraid. But after this weekend, I learned it’s all I can do. After spending time with my family, and r

ealizing the lack of God in their life I must say that He is all the help I have in fulfilling at least some of my goal for the summer in living out His love.

If I want to show my family, my friends, my co-workers, and the people I’ll be working with for my internship who God is, I need to depend on my God. But, in order to do that, I need to realize that I cannot do this alone and that I can’t show God’s love unless I am right there with Him. I need to learn how to be poor in spirit and really how to give up myself for something far greater than anything I could ever think or imagine. God has a far better plan for my life and for the way that I reach out to these people, and I need to learn how to depend on His plan and not on my own. My plans are always going to change, but God’s are forever faithful. This verse has really shown me that this is something that God is working in my heart right now. If I want to see these seeds sown in anyone’s life, and if I want to see and be apart of the Kingdom of Heaven myself I must surrender my plans for His. I must realize that I am nothing without my God. This summer really is all about giving up myself all for God, and showing people Him, and Him alone.

This entry was published on June 17, 2013 at 6:41 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

