Hunger and Thirst for Righteousness.

Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled. (Matthew 5:6)

This is a good verse for today I think. But I say that solely because I know that this is something that I haven’t been doing my best in lately. Reading this verse is a great reminder that I have to keep looking for righteousness and in that, I have to keep searching for God’s help. Now, you see. I like this verse because it just is like the beginning to this long line of explanation of other verses and ideas. You start with this…hungering for righteousness. But then you should wonder… but wait, how can anyone even do that. Well my friend, that’s a great questions and the answer is…you can’t. Look at Romans 3:20 that says “Therefore no one will be declared righteous in God’s sight by the works of the law; rather, through the law we become conscious of our sin.” We clearly can do nothing about becoming righteous on our own. However. What we can do though (if we just keep reading Romans)  faith in Jesus, as that is the only way we could possibly be righteous.

So really…the only way that we can be filled, is if we find faith in Christ. Wow, this is exciting me! 🙂 It’s so cool that even through the beatitudes God is still like you can’t do this alone. We really do need God, and it’s in verses like these that make me realize that this life is impossible without Him, and especially this life that God wants us to live…we can’t do it without Him. God wants us to shine for Him, but the funny thing is is that we can’t do it on our own. God is there to help us, to make sure that we give Him the right praise. God is all around us making sure that we are doing what He has called us to do. Wow…God is just so cool.

Another thing that I want to note before summing this day up, the end about “they will be filled”. This to be is something that I’ve really gotten to understand and I really just want to take time to point out. It is true that we are filled up by God and God alone, but it is even more true that God will empty that cup and pour it out onto others if you just let Him. I know this especially from last summer at SpringHill. Just thinking about all the counselors there and praying for them and their end to week two, I can’t help but thinking they are probably pouring out to these kids all that they have. Just as we all did last summer, but the one thing that kept us going was that solo time that we had each day. The chance to just relax, and just stop and wait before God. Going to camp and just pouring your all our to kids everyday has taught me that, we can’t pour out anything unless there is something in the cup; and in order to have something in that cup…we have to go out and get it. We can’t just sit around and assume that God is going to fill us. NO. We have to show God that we have faith, we have to show Him that we do care and that we want more of Him. We have to live, breathe, love God, so that we can share Him with others. Day1

In relation to how I’m going to start living this verse out, especially this summer…I know that I need to have more faith in God. I think I’ve been slacking a lot this summer and even this past school year in that. It really has been time and time again that God has asked me to step it up and to rely on Him and to trust Him in what He is doing in my life. But I know I’ve ignored Him. I know that I’ve gone to numerous other people and then to no one at all, as long as it wasn’t God. But I know that now is the best time to stop that, and to start growing and learning how to be righteous. I know that God has called us to do such things, because He has called us to Himself. It’s one thing after another in all the things that God has called us to do, but it always comes down to the last note to “come to me, all who are weary and burdened and I will give you rest” (Matthew 11:28).

This entry was published on June 22, 2013 at 4:53 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

